There are four meals a day in an English home: breakfast, lunch, tea, and dinner.

Breakfast is the first meal of the day.

 It is at about 8 o’clock in the morning,and consists of porridge with milk and salt or
sugar, eggs — boiled or fried, bread and butter with marmalade or jam.

Some people like to drink tea, but others prefer coffee.

 Instead of porridge they may have fruit juice, or they may prefer biscuits.

The usual time for lunch is 1 o’clock.

This meal starts with soup or fruit juice.

Then follows some meat or poultry with potatoes — boiled or fried, carrots and beans.


Then a pudding comes.

Instead of the pudding they may prefer cheese and biscuits.

Last of all coffee — black or white.

Englishmen often drink something at lunch.

Water is usually on the table.

Some prefer juice or lemonade.

Tea is the third meal of the day.

It is between 4 or 5 o’clock, the so-called 5o’clock tea.

On the table there is tea, milk or cream, sugar, bread and butter, cakes and jam.

Friends and visitors are often present at tea.

Dinner is the fourth meal of the day.

The usual time is about 7 o’clock, and all the members of the family sit down together.

Dinner usually consists of soup, fish or meat with vegetables — potatoes, green beans, carrot and cabbage, sweet pudding, fruit salad, ice-cream or cheese and biscuits.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s